COVID-19 UPDATE: Our physical office locations are open again, but with the following COVID SAFETY protocols in place:

New York State Passes Tougher Distracted Driving Laws

78% of all teens say they have read a text message while driving, according to distraction.gov. And 71% of all teens admit to having sent a text message while driving.

The new laws put in place on November 1, which bring a stiffer penalty for those caught talking on a hand-held device or  texting while driving, should send a much-needed wake-up call to motorists, especially teens, who do not realize the danger of this potentially fatal behavior.

The tougher penalties were approved by the state Legislation. Drivers under the age of 21 who are convicted of texting while driving will now receive a mandatory 120-day license or permit suspension. Any additional convictions within six months of a license restoration will lead to a one-year-driver license or permit revocation. Maximum fines a first-time offense of talking or texting will increase from $150 to $200. The fine for a second offense will increase from $200 to $250. A third offense will result in a fine of $450, up from $400.

These new fines along with the June 2013 law that adds 5 points to the offenders license, make New York’s distracted driving laws some of the toughest in the county.

Think before you make the decision to text and drive.

Learn more about our ‘Commit to Quit Texting & Driving’ program and our efforts to end distracted driving in teens.

Source: Poughkeepsie Journal